PostFrontal Forum
PostFrontal Forum
LK8000_Support_Forum | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 LK8000 International Support
 Hardware
 Connecting FLARM, Vario, Radio via WiFi Interface
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Next Page
Author  Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

AlphaLima
Moderator

Germany
1978 Posts

Posted - 18/02/2020 :  08:44:48  Show Profile  Visit AlphaLima's Homepage  Reply with Quote
If you wand to connect your device via Wifi here is a Do it yourself project based on the ESP32 and Arduino IDE
https://github.com/AlphaLima/ESP32-Serial-Bridge

(Sorry, the previous thread was deleted accidently)

Edited by - AlphaLima on 18/02/2020 08:46:35

Alebu
Falchetto

Italy
105 Posts

Posted - 18/02/2020 :  09:20:27  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Dear AL,
I’ll try to shortly recap my experience with the ESP32 Serial Bridge. I’m able to successfully load your sketch, via Arduino IDE, on the ESP32.(I did buy two similar ones from different manufacturer NodeMCU-32S and AZ-Delivery). Just after first load it connects to the phone quickly and stable. The problem is that the connection doesn’t succeed any more at the following card’s power on. The phone continuously tries to get the IP address causing a SW_CPU_RESET of the ESP32 board at each connection tentative. As per your suggestion I did try many USB cables and also the direct feeding via the 5V pin. No differences at all. The card works fine with different demo sketches as the WiFiClient one. In order to be able to work with the ESP Serial Bridge again, I need to load the demo sketch and then your ESP32 Serial Bridge sketch back again, and It works fine till I keep the power on.
That’s where I’m stuck now. If you have any further idea, I’d be happy to continue the troubleshooting.
Best regards,

Alebu
Go to Top of Page

AlphaLima
Moderator

Germany
1978 Posts

Posted - 18/02/2020 :  09:39:07  Show Profile  Visit AlphaLima's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Sounds like a stack overflow due to a memory map mismatch.
Make sure Bluetooth is disabled.
Make sure you use this settings:
https://github.com/AlphaLima/ESP32-Serial-Bridge/blob/master/Settings.jpg
Go to Top of Page

Alebu
Falchetto

Italy
105 Posts

Posted - 18/02/2020 :  19:39:26  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi AL,
BT seams to be deactivated. It is quoted (//#define BLUETOOTH) in the config.h.

Settings were not as per your your latest message. Unfortunatelly nothing changes with the new settings :-(
In case it could help, here after the full message I get at each connection tentative:

rst:0xc (SW_CPU_RESET),boot:0x13 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)
configsip: 0, SPIWP:0xee
clk_drv:0x00,q_drv:0x00,d_drv:0x00,cs0_drv:0x00,hd_drv:0x00,wp_drv:0x00
mode:DIO, clock div:1
load:0x3fff0018,len:4
load:0x3fff001c,len:1216
ho 0 tail 12 room 4
load:0x40078000,len:9720
ho 0 tail 12 room 4
load:0x40080400,len:6352
entry 0x400806b8

Thanks a lot for your so kind support.
Alessandro
Go to Top of Page

Alebu
Falchetto

Italy
105 Posts

Posted - 18/02/2020 :  21:40:12  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
On the other side, let me give you the good news that, when the connection happens (at the first power on), LK8000 receives the simulated GPS on all three UARTs ports, very well.
Solving the connection WiFi connection issue it would be ready to be installed.

Alebu
Go to Top of Page

AlphaLima
Moderator

Germany
1978 Posts

Posted - 18/02/2020 :  22:08:58  Show Profile  Visit AlphaLima's Homepage  Reply with Quote
That's curious, that is a software reset. We have hundreds of ESP32 serial bridges working already.
Are you sure you have the correct ESP32 library installed?
What exact hardware are you using? does the upload work properly withour error messages?
which baudrate are you using? maybe you can try a lower one.


Edited by - AlphaLima on 18/02/2020 22:13:16
Go to Top of Page

Alebu
Falchetto

Italy
105 Posts

Posted - 19/02/2020 :  09:16:33  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Luky me :-(

This is the library's address I did put in the arduino IDE Preferences: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/espressif/arduino-esp32/gh-pages/package_esp32_index.json It is the stable release. I'll try the Dev ones next time.

Installation done in accordance to this procedure: https://github.com/espressif/arduino-esp32/blob/master/docs/arduino-ide/boards_manager.md

My first HW was this: https://www.amazon.it/gp/product/B07YKBY53C/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
The current HW I'm working with is this: https://www.amazon.it/gp/product/B071P98VTG/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Upload works properly without any error message (in case BT is disabled).

Latest setting I did use are the ones you suggested here: https://github.com/AlphaLima/ESP32-Serial-Bridge/blob/master/Settings.jpg
I'm also randomly playing around with different values.

UART's baudrates are all set at 19200 as per your basic config.h. I'll try a lower one.

Regards,

Alebu
Go to Top of Page

AlphaLima
Moderator

Germany
1978 Posts

Posted - 19/02/2020 :  12:50:12  Show Profile  Visit AlphaLima's Homepage  Reply with Quote
I don't know what you do wrong. Maybe it is a better idea if I send you a reday programmed module.
Drop me an PM fdor the details.
AL
Go to Top of Page

Alebu
Falchetto

Italy
105 Posts

Posted - 23/02/2020 :  12:24:36  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi All,
some good news. Finally it seems I did found the way to get a stable and repeatable connection. In order to get it stable I had to remove the latest versions of the ESP32 board manager in the Arduino IDE (i.e. 1.0.4 nor the 1.0.3). As far as I can see the newest version not causing the connection issue is the 1.0.2.
I didn't test the serial communications yet, I hope it will work as well.
Regards,

03/03/2020 As far as I can see this is not true on all PC. It was as described on a desktop Win10 PC, not the same on my Win10 Laptop. Amazing! Maybe it is a good idea to avoid the Arduino IDE!?

Alebu

Edited by - Alebu on 03/03/2020 08:12:35
Go to Top of Page

Alebu
Falchetto

Italy
105 Posts

Posted - 02/03/2020 :  09:43:56  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I did a quick test (not very representative to be honest) of my self-made ESP32 box on the glider, this weekend, connecting the S100 to my android smartphone (running both, stable and beta LK's releases). In this short time I saw just that:
- changing the MC on the S100 it was changing MC setting on LK, not the vice versa.
- GOTO on LK was correctly received from S100.
- Declaration on LK towards S100 was not working, causing LK freezing. I did notice also that editing the task on LK, S100 was receiving (as GOTO WP) the first WP of the task at each task change.
I'll report on more detailed test I'll do.

Regards,

Alebu
Go to Top of Page

AlphaLima
Moderator

Germany
1978 Posts

Posted - 03/03/2020 :  14:02:54  Show Profile  Visit AlphaLima's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Which driver?
Go to Top of Page

Alebu
Falchetto

Italy
105 Posts

Posted - 03/03/2020 :  14:38:50  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm quite sure it was the LXV7_EXP, this is the one I normally use. Sometime I also use the LX nano3 for declarations. Anyway unfortunately I'm not sure. I'll try to run some more reliable test next time.
Go to Top of Page

AlphaLima
Moderator

Germany
1978 Posts

Posted - 03/03/2020 :  20:57:59  Show Profile  Visit AlphaLima's Homepage  Reply with Quote
The V dos not support declarations!
Try the Nano3 driver!
Go to Top of Page

Alebu
Falchetto

Italy
105 Posts

Posted - 08/03/2020 :  21:44:35  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by Alebu


03/03/2020 As far as I can see this is not true on all PC. It was as described on a desktop Win10 PC, not the same on my Win10 Laptop. Amazing! Maybe it is a good idea to avoid the Arduino IDE!?



As planned, I did try PlatformIO IDE. It makes no improvements respect Arduino IDE. So it was just a big waste of time.
The good news is that I found the way to have stable a repeatable connections between Android and the ESP32. Very simple, it is enough to set a STATIC IP in the WiFi options.


Alebu
Go to Top of Page

rexfux
Pulcino

48 Posts

Posted - 11/03/2020 :  19:52:33  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hello to everyone,
I'm using WiFi and esp32 and it works very well. However, the task declaration works only randomly. Today After several trials, I was able to declare a task. The radioactivité worked Yesterday but today it didn't. My radio is a KRT2 port 8881 and 9600 bauds.
I'm using a lxnav S7 and a flarm LX minibox.
I'm using the LXV7 driver and port 10110; baud rate 19200.
With an ioio connection, the task declaration works and the radio control works perfectly.
Any ideas ?
Best regards
Henri

Edited by - rexfux on 12/03/2020 14:19:32
Go to Top of Page

AlphaLima
Moderator

Germany
1978 Posts

Posted - 12/03/2020 :  14:22:39  Show Profile  Visit AlphaLima's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Sounds like a timing problem,
I need the runtime.log and the NMEA logs to see whats going wrong.
-What is the Prot for the V7?
-What is the Port for the KRT2?
-Does it wor with the KRT2 diabled (Driver and device)?

Edited by - AlphaLima on 12/03/2020 14:25:26
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 3  Topic Next Topic  
Next Page
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Jump To:
PostFrontal Forum © PostFrontal - La community del Volo a Vela Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.17 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000

Since 2006, owned and maintained by PostFrontal S.A.S. di Giuliano Golfieri & c. - VAT ID: IT05264240960
THIS WEBSITE ONLY USES FUNCTIONAL COOKIES
Privacy & Cookie Policy