PostFrontal Forum
PostFrontal Forum
PF Home | International_Forum | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?


 All Forums
 LK8000 International Support
 Hardware
 Connecting FLARM, Vario, Radio via WiFi Interface
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

AlphaLima
Moderator

Germany
1509 Posts

Posted - 20/07/2017 :  23:07:16  Show Profile  Visit AlphaLima's Homepage  Reply with Quote
No this should work,
what does "cai302 device doesn't do anything" mean, LK uses only one GPS source at the same time, if one fails it sould fall back to the second GPS source.
for further debugging I need some informations.
have you connected the 192.168.4.10 to the 192.168.4.1 AP?
If Yes, are you able to access both ESPLnk websites (192.168.4.10 and 192.168.4.1)?
If Yes, are you able to get both data streams on Port (e.g. using putty)?
If Yes, are the IP addresses in LK device setup setup correctly?
If is does not work on your android device you should use a Windows PC for debugging.
AL
Go to Top of Page

Marco from Hangar 5
Pterodattilo

Netherlands
809 Posts

Posted - 13/08/2017 :  21:23:53  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi Alphalima,

Since I have power problems in my glider already, do you know what the estimated power consumption is of this wifi module, including the power supply? is a 0.5A total a good estimate?

I could find only the specs of the ESP-01S Wifi chip, which is 0.080A, but the power supply is flexible between 0 and 3A, and I have no power data at all of the MAX3232 RS232 TTL converter module. I guess the MX3232 module, together with the Wifi module use about 0.1A, so even if the power supply is very bad, 0.5A would be on the safe side, right?

Marco
BU (PH-588)
Mini Nimbus HS7, s/n 039
http://www.zweef.nl/
Zweefvliegcentrum Noordkop, NETHERLANDS
Go to Top of Page

AlphaLima
Moderator

Germany
1509 Posts

Posted - 14/08/2017 :  12:30:54  Show Profile  Visit AlphaLima's Homepage  Reply with Quote
In avarage it is much less <30mA@3.3V = 0.1W = 8.25mA@12V.

However it needs small power peaks up to 100mA@3.3V=0.33W.
0.1A x 12V = 1.2W is more than sufficient.
The MAX3232 has typical less tha 0.5mA@3.3V so it is negligible.

Edited by - AlphaLima on 14/08/2017 12:39:43
Go to Top of Page

Marco from Hangar 5
Pterodattilo

Netherlands
809 Posts

Posted - 14/08/2017 :  19:48:37  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
OK, I unmderstand, Thank you very much!

Marco
BU (PH-588)
Mini Nimbus HS7, s/n 039
http://www.zweef.nl/
Zweefvliegcentrum Noordkop, NETHERLANDS
Go to Top of Page

Marco from Hangar 5
Pterodattilo

Netherlands
809 Posts

Posted - 17/08/2017 :  15:09:11  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Small question:

The RS232 <--> TTL converter chip has on both sides a + and - power connection, do I need to provide both sides with 3.3V or only one side like you have shown in the Manual?

See pictures here:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/5PCS-Mini-RS232-To-TTL-MAX3232-Converter-Adaptor-Module-Serial-Port-Board/131700206049?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649

Marco
BU (PH-588)
Mini Nimbus HS7, s/n 039
http://www.zweef.nl/
Zweefvliegcentrum Noordkop, NETHERLANDS
Go to Top of Page

AlphaLima
Moderator

Germany
1509 Posts

Posted - 17/08/2017 :  15:53:28  Show Profile  Visit AlphaLima's Homepage  Reply with Quote
;-)
A simple Ohm-Meter would answer that question.
These pins are connected, so one side is enough. The second pins are very useful if used in a connection cable.
Go to Top of Page

Marco from Hangar 5
Pterodattilo

Netherlands
809 Posts

Posted - 17/08/2017 :  21:26:43  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I know, but I was not at home when that question popped up, but good to know. Thanks!

Marco
BU (PH-588)
Mini Nimbus HS7, s/n 039
http://www.zweef.nl/
Zweefvliegcentrum Noordkop, NETHERLANDS
Go to Top of Page

Marco from Hangar 5
Pterodattilo

Netherlands
809 Posts

Posted - 19/08/2017 :  21:05:32  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi all and especially Alphalima,

I have been fighting with flashing the wifi chip today, but in the end I got it working! Hurray! Took me a few hours though, and some nerdy skills, that are nowhere mentionned in the manual as posted in the first post... Sure you need to change the follwoing (its a long story, I marked the important bits bold red):

First a few notes:
I use Windows 10 Pro x64 version, with all security updates
I connected the programmer to a USB 2.1 port.
But I think this is not really important, it should be the same for all windows versions.

Inconsistency in the manual:
The link to the ESP-01 Firmware points to version 2.2.3, but this one was missing some files as shown in the flashtool picture, so I could not set it up as in the picture.. Looking a bit better to the picture I noticed the firmware has another version then in the link! The flashtool picture shows version 3.014. I downloaded the 3.014 version right here, which is shown as "Latest Release":

https://github.com/jeelabs/esp-link/releases/tag/V3.0.14


Then I started trying to flash the wifi chip, set everything as in the flashtool picture, everything seems to be alright.. Hold flashbutton, click reset button, release flashbutton, click start.. Com fail(brown).

After trying some com ports, it seems the COM3 is the correct one, now I get SYNC for a few seconds and then FAIL.. wtf.

My old nerdy skills surface and I learned in the past this often is caused by a wrong driver... So I check the device manager of Windows, and it surely shows the driver is not good.. a yellow exclamation mark at a Microsoft Ballpoint (serial) device, when going into the properties it shows the device wont start, but the location is correct, Silicon Labs C210x USB to UART Bridge (COM 3).

Googling the P/N R4 CP2104 of the programmer, I found the correct driver on the Silicon Labs website, right here:

https://www.silabs.com/products/development-tools/software/usb-to-uart-bridge-vcp-drivers

Make sure you download and install the version for your computer (x64 or x86) and windows version.

Maybe a good idea to add this to the manual, it is very simple to download and install this driver.


But then I still get the FAIL when trying to flash the wifi chip...and here it shows why the driver is so necessary...Do the following:

Windows Device manager> Ports (COM and LPT) and then double click the "Silicon Labs CP210x USB to UART Bridge (COM3)" to open the properties panel.

In the properties panel now shows a few tabs (that were missing in the Ballpoint driver!), click the Port Setting tab, and set the BAUD Rate the same as in the flashtool.. I guess you could leave the settings in the driver the same and change the Flashtool baud rate to what is in the driver.. anyways, these should be the same! of course. My situation was that the driver was at 9600 and the flashtool was set to 115200.. and that does not work of course..

Ok when setting the baudrates the same (115200) all went smoothly and flashing of the wifi chip worked.

Next step is to solder the power supply and RS232<-->TTL module to the wifi chip and hook it up to a 12V battery and then try to access the wifi module with my computer and set it up for using it with the KRT2 radio!

Marco
BU (PH-588)
Mini Nimbus HS7, s/n 039
http://www.zweef.nl/
Zweefvliegcentrum Noordkop, NETHERLANDS

Edited by - Marco from Hangar 5 on 19/08/2017 21:56:42
Go to Top of Page

AlphaLima
Moderator

Germany
1509 Posts

Posted - 02/11/2017 :  13:56:59  Show Profile  Visit AlphaLima's Homepage  Reply with Quote
For those haveing Problems with the jeelabs image, here is an Arduino alternative:
Arduino:
https://github.com/roboremo/ESP8266-WiFi-UART-Bridge
https://github.com/NaoNaoMe/ESP8266-WiFi-UART-transparent-bridge


Edited by - AlphaLima on 29/11/2017 20:34:36
Go to Top of Page

AlphaLima
Moderator

Germany
1509 Posts

Posted - 04/11/2017 :  11:01:40  Show Profile  Visit AlphaLima's Homepage  Reply with Quote
For those who need RS422 or RS485 Level (e.g. for Becker Radios) there is a direct TTL <-> RS422 Module search for "RS422-TTL-full duplex Converter" and you get for example:
http://www.electrodragon.com/product/rs422-ttl-module-full-duplex-rs-422/

Edited by - AlphaLima on 04/11/2017 17:19:36
Go to Top of Page

AlphaLima
Moderator

Germany
1509 Posts

Posted - 17/11/2017 :  23:45:14  Show Profile  Visit AlphaLima's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by dysanf

Just curious if this is normal behavior.

I have a Power Flarm Core and Cambridge 302 in my glider. I have made two wifi adapters and have them plugged into each of the devices.

In LK8000 I can setup the powerflarm only and it works great (it is set to 192.168.4.1 and AP mode). I can then switch it to be the CAI302 only and it works great (it is set to 192.168.4.10 and STA mode). After that, if I test with both devices being setup in LK8000 the power flarm works great but the cai302 device doesn't do anything.

Can you only use one gps source at a time?

Thanks for the help!

PS I will post my build notes in a few days.




Confirm,
it is a bug in LK regarding Port sharing, will be fixed in the next released version. Thanks for reporting!
AL

Fixed since Version 6.1Q

Edited by - AlphaLima on 29/11/2017 20:22:06
Go to Top of Page

AlphaLima
Moderator

Germany
1509 Posts

Posted - 29/11/2017 :  20:37:00  Show Profile  Visit AlphaLima's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Now the ES8266 successor ESP32 is available, it has up to three hardware serial ports. This is perfect for a glider. (e.g Vario, Logger, FLARM)
I'm already working on a transparent Wifi to 3 UART bridge. Looking for beta testers. Please drop me a PM if interested.
AL

https://github.com/AlphaLima/ESP32-Serial-Bridge

Edited by - AlphaLima on 29/11/2017 23:16:54
Go to Top of Page

Marco from Hangar 5
Pterodattilo

Netherlands
809 Posts

Posted - 03/04/2018 :  16:47:13  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Little update:

I have asked a friend of mine to solder a wifi module together, but he already fried one set LOL! never mind.. he has 4 more to try :-).. But this also means the wifi is not ready for the flying season, but it is the last thing on my panel upgrade everything else is working flawless!

Marco
BU (PH-588)
Mini Nimbus HS7, s/n 039
http://www.zweef.nl/
Zweefvliegcentrum Noordkop, NETHERLANDS
Go to Top of Page

AlphaLima
Moderator

Germany
1509 Posts

Posted - 12/04/2018 :  17:31:59  Show Profile  Visit AlphaLima's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Here is an example with the ESP32
3x RJ45 (Flarm)
1x Option (i.e. I2C, Power etc.)
2x USB (Power Out only max. 2A/Port)
1x Micro-USB (Programming)
WiFi (AP or Client)
1x Bluetooth Serial (Master or Slave)



If you are interested in an empty Board drop me a PM, (10 left over)

Edited by - AlphaLima on 12/04/2018 17:34:04
Go to Top of Page

Marco from Hangar 5
Pterodattilo

Netherlands
809 Posts

Posted - 13/04/2018 :  11:11:00  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Could you also provide a completely assembled unit? My soldering skills are not that good ;-)

Does this unit provide Wifi PLUS Bluetooth, or do we have to make a choice between Bt or wifi? (I see only one antenna)

Marco
BU (PH-588)
Mini Nimbus HS7, s/n 039
http://www.zweef.nl/
Zweefvliegcentrum Noordkop, NETHERLANDS
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 3 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Jump To:
PostFrontal Forum © PostFrontal - La community del Volo a Vela Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.19 seconds. Snitz Forums 2000

Suggerimenti dello staff:

               

Note legali (italiano):
Privacy Policy Cookie Policy
Legal notice (english):
Privacy Policy Cookie Policy

PostFrontal S.A.S. di Giuliano Golfieri & c. - P.I. 05264240960